Facebook Adds New Feature to Give Users More Control

When it comes to what form of technology most people are dependent on, chances are it’s their smartphone. Many find themselves checking their phones constantly throughout the day to make sure that they aren’t missing out on anything. Most people head on over to Facebook to learn what’s the latest with their friends, family, favorite actors, news stories, and more. People waste a lot of time scrolling through Facebook in an effort to find the content that they want to see. It seems that finally, Facebook has a way to figure out what should and should not show up on your homepage.

According to TechCrunch, Facebook is launching their newest form of technology. They’re adding a snooze button which will allow users to mute people, groups, and pages for a month. This new feature allows users to hide the content they don’t want to see. This is a much more practical solution then unfollowing or unfriending someone. Perhaps, what you’re looking for this month won’t be relevant next month or thereafter. This is great for people who are preparing for a vacation but don’t want to be reminded of it until the future.

The new feature is easy to access. Users just have to click the top-right drop-down menu that is found on a post. They then have the option to mute that content for 30 days. Many users are digging this whole idea for those going through a breakup. Many people end up being friends after a breakup and therefore deleting them off of Facebook altogether seems a bit soon. This option is great for that because a user can hide them and the painful memories while the breakup is still fresh. After a while, they can choose to unhide them or hide them again.

Although this seems like a minor update, Facebook hopes it will have a big impact. There have been numerous studies done where Facebook and social media, in general, is having a negative impact on user’s health. This feature will help combat that by giving them more control over what they want to see.